>Jónsi won the inaugural Nordic Music Prize


Jónsi wins the inaugural Nordic Music Prize

The Nordic Music Prize’s distinguished jury has decided that the Nordic Music Prize goes to Jónsi for the album ”Go”. Jónsi secured the victory in close competition with 11 other nominees
The jury states:

The music of the winner could only have been made here, in the North. It sounds and almost smells like Iceland. It’s brave and life affirming pop music that grabs you by the heart in flamboyant technicolour.”
The jury consisted of:
Rob Young – Author of the new book Electric Eden, former editor of The Wire, now writer for Uncut and The Wire.
Andres Lokko – Scandianavias most influential music writer. Now based in London. Writes for Svenska Dagbladet.
Laurence Bell – Owner of Domino Records
Jeannette Lee – Former member of P.I.L. Owner of Rough Trade Records with Geoff Travis. Manager of Duffy.
Matthew Schnipper – Writer for The Fader.
Mike Pickering – Former Factory Records employee, now A&R at Columbia Records UK.
The other 11 nominees were:

• Dungen – Skit i allt
• Paleface Helsinki – Shangri-La
• Susanne Sundfør – The Brothel
• Robyn – Body talk
• Efterklang – Magic Chairs
• Serena Maneesh – S-M 2: Abyss in B Minor
• The Radio Dept. – Clinging to a scheme
• Ólöf Arnalds – Innundir skinni
• Kvelertak – Kvelertak
• First Aid Kit – The big black & the blue
• Frisk Frugt – Dansktoppen møder Burkina Faso i det himmelblå rum hvor solen bor, suite

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: